2011 PUBLIC HOLIDAYS


NOTE: These dates are accurate at the date of publication, however the relevant authorities may make variations.

We haven’t listed holidays such as regional show days and shire days, which are limited to specific geographic boundaries within a state or territory. Please call the AFEI Hotline: 02 9264 2000 for more information about the non-statutory regional holidays that might affect your organisation.

 

Australian Capital Territory

DATE
HOLIDAY
Monday 3 Jan* New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Monday 14 Mar Canberra Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr Easter Saturday
Monday 25 Apr Easter Monday
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day
Tuesday 26 Apr Additional holiday**
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Monday 3 Oct Labour Day
Monday 10 Oct Family and community Day
Monday 26 Dec# Christmas Day
Tuesday 27 Dec## Boxing Day

*Substitute for Saturday 1 Jan.
**In recognition of the congruence of Anzac day and Easter Monday.
#Substitute for Sunday 25 December.
##Substitute for Monday 26 December.

 

New South Wales

DATE
HOLIDAY
Saturday 1 Jan New Year's Day
Monday 3 Jan Additional day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr Easter Saturday
Sunday 24 Apr Easter Sunday
#Tuesday 26 Apr Easter Monday
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Monday 1 Aug Bank Holiday**
Monday 3 Oct Labour Day
Sunday 25 Dec *Additional day
##Monday 26 Dec Christmas Day
Tuesday 27 Dec Boxing Day

*Additional public holiday for Sunday, 25 December 2011.
**Applies to banks and certain financial institutions see Retail Trading Act 2008.
#Substituted public holiday for Easter Monday.
##Transferred public holiday for Christmas Day.
Published 18 February 2011.


Northern Territory

DATE
HOLIDAY
Monday 3 Jan New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr Easter Saturday
Monday 25 Apr Easter Monday
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day
Tuesday 26 Apr Additional public holiday*
Monday 2 May May Day
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Monday 1 Aug Picnic Day
Monday 26 Dec Christmas Day
Tuesday 27 Dec Boxing Day

*In recognition that Easter Monday and Anzac Day both fall on Monday 25 April 2011, the Minister for Public Employment has declared an additional public holiday on Tuesday 26 April 2011.


Queensland

DATE
HOLIDAY
Saturday 1 Jan and Monday 3 Jan New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr Easter Saturday
Monday 25 Apr* Anzac Day
Tuesday 26 Apr* Easter Monday
Monday 2 May Labour Day
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Wednesday 17 Aug Royal Queensland Show**
Monday 26 Dec Christmas Day
Tuesday 27 Dec Boxing Day

*In recognition of Easter Monday and Anzac Day occurring on the same day in 2011, the Attorney-General and Minister for Industrial Relations has approved a substituted public holiday for Easter Monday on Tuesday 26 April 2011.
**Brisbane area only.


South Australia

DATE
HOLIDAY
Monday 3 Jan New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day

Monday 14 Mar

Adelaide Cup Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr The day after Good Friday (Easter Saturday)
Monday 25 Apr Easter Monday
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day
Tuesday 26 Apr Easter Tuesday*
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday and Volunteer's Day
Monday 3 Oct Labour Day
Monday 26 Dec Christmas Day
Tuesday 27 Dec Proclamation Day

*For 2011 only—due to date of Easter Monday and Anzac Day both falling on 25 April in 2011.


Western Australia

DATE
HOLIDAY
Saturday 1 Jan and Monday 3 Jan New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Monday 7 Mar Labour Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day
Tuesday 26 Apr* Easter Monday
Monday 6 Jun Foundation Day
Friday 28 Oct** Queen's Birthday
Sunday 25 Dec and Monday 26 Dec Christmas Day
Monday 26 Dec and Tuesday 27 Dec Boxing Day

*As the Anzac Day and Easter Monday public holidays both fall on 25 April in 2011, the Easter Monday public holiday has been moved to 26 April.
**The date of the Queen's Birthday public holiday for 2011 has been changed from Monday 3 October to Friday 28 October 2011. The date was moved to coincide with the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting which will take place in Perth during the week of 23 October to 30 October 2011.

 

Tasmania

DATE
HOLIDAY
Monday 3 Jan New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Monday 14 Feb Royal Hobart Regatta (Southern Tasmania only)
Monday 14 Mar Eight Hours Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Monday 25 Apr Easter Monday (also Anzac day)
Monday 25 Apr Anzac Day (also Easter Monday)
Tuesday 26 Apr Easter Tuesday
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Monday 7 Nov Recreation Day (Northern Tasmania only)
Sunday 25 Dec and Tuesday 27 Dec Christmas Day
Monday 26 Dec Boxing Day


Victoria

DATE
HOLIDAY
Monday 3 Jan* New Year's Day
Wednesday 26 Jan Australia Day
Monday 14 Mar Labour Day
Friday 22 Apr Good Friday
Saturday 23 Apr The Saturday before Easter Sunday
Monday 25 Apr Easter Monday
Tuesday 26 Apr** Anzac Day
Monday 13 Jun Queen's Birthday
Tuesday 1 Nov Melbourne Cup Day
Tuesday 27 Dec#

Christmas Day
Monday 26 Dec Boxing Day

*In addition to Saturday 1 January.
**Substitute for Monday 25 April.
#Substitute for Sunday 25 December.